Irreverent Reviews: Edoughable

Are you like me, are you obsessed with cookie dough? Does making cookies usually not result in a finished product? Do you buy the premade tubs of the stuff, eat the damn thing in one sitting, and then wonder why something that says “don’t eat this raw” has made you feel ill?

Our days of suffering may be over, friends- I have discovered Edoughable!

Edoughable is a ready-to-eat cookie dough company that was founded by people like me, people who just want to eat some damn dough. They have a variety of flavor offerings ranging from the tried-and-true favorites to inventive novelty flavors.

My Valentine’s present to myself was their “Just-a-Taste Box,” (16.95+ free shipping!) two 4-ounce containers with your choice of flavors. I picked “chocolate chip off the ol’ block” and “snickerdude.” They only ship their fresh-made products out twice a week, so I’ve been plotting my cookie dough buying for months, and finally I was going to be at home and with weather that felt safe to have a perishable food item delivered to my porch by the unreliable postal service in my city.

I ordered Friday and they arrived Wednesday which I think is a great turn around time. I was so excited to dig in and try my cookie dough!

You’ve probably already guessed that this is going to be a positive review, I didn’t really frame this post with a lot of mystery. But I will say that when I got my first taste of the chocolate chip version, it tasted a bit sour. Not in a “spoiled” way, but it wasn’t a totally awesome piece of cookie dough. And I was sad.

HOWEVER “snickerdude” is phenomenal!!! Which makes me think that perhaps I just got a slightly off batch of chocolate chip, or perhaps I don’t like the brand of chocolate they use. Because Snickerdude tastes like a perfect piece of cookie dough, I’m a-okay with endorsing this company and am right now, as we speak, ordering another taster box so that I can try their “lady in red velvet chip” and which one?? s’mores? birthday bash? It’s so hard to decide! Maybe I’ll even hold off on posting this review until afterwards!

UPDATE EDIT: I got “Lady in Red Velvet Chip” and “Birthday Bash.” Both are phenomenal, neither has the slightly sour taste “Chocolate Chip Off the Ol’ Block” had.

The sizes in the Just-a-Taste box are smaller than the “normal” sizes (4oz as opposed to 8oz for a standalone tub and the “I’m popular” box) but 4oz is still a decent amount of cookie dough, especially since it is a perishable item that won’t last forever. It’s not a cheap product, but it’s delicious and small batch and I feel better about supporting Edoughable than I do about buying those Tollhouse tubs that don’t even want me to eat them raw anyway.

So this is my endorsement of Edoughable, are there other edible cookie dough places out there? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

