Irreverent Reviews: OPI Matte Top Coat

A couple of exciting things happening! First, this is being composed on my new computer! Getting used to the Windows 8 and all the new buttons has a bit of a learning curve but it’s incredible being able to type on a responsive keyboard!

Also, I set up a Twitter account specifically for this blog. It won’t be a hopping place but should hopefully allow for more interaction and whatnot. Building my audience, ya know? Follow me @IrrevInternet

I found the link for this on Pinterest and absolutely loved the look. While 13.99 is certainly a deal on two bottles of OPI polish, I really have no clue how selling two bottles of brand name nail polish gets away with having an etsy shop. You want to do tutorial instructions, start a blog or something. Still, that picture-as-a-pin got me all fired up to buy OPI’s Matte Topcoat and Yoga-ta Get this Blue. I’ve done a couple matte mani’s since getting the supplies (as ways to tide me over in my never ending, never successful quest to find I Have a Herring Problem), but today I decided to attempt them over several different shades of polish.

After one coat

After one coat of regular polish

From left to right: Sinful Colors Sage Rose, OPI I Don’t Give a Rotterdam!, OPI Amazon Amaz-off, and OPI Yoga-ta Get This Blue. Above is one coat of color, no top coat, and no base coat either (I have never used one).

Coat two

Coat two

Not all the colors needed a second coat but I gave them all one for consistency. All the colors dry pretty quickly.

Ok so after they dry you just slap the matte top coat on like a regular top coat! And it will look regular at first, it applies clear but dries matte, so you’ll have to wait a moment for the results, then you’ll be able to see if you’ve missed any spots.

Matte'd

Matte’d

The difference is noticeable in person so I hope it translates OK in these pictures. Rotterdam, which is a nice color on it’s own, ends up looking really dull and muddy when Matte’d. Amazon and Yoga-ta matte up very nicely into smooth, rich version of their original colors. Sage Rose was kind of the wild card, being by a different brand. It is less shimmery and has lost its duochrome but still has far more shimmer and reflectivity than the other three colors.

So all these were done today and the question is: how do they last? I have only used the blue with the matte topcoat and I am unimpressed with its lasting power. On its own and with the matte top coat I usually see wear by the next day, if not within several hours- even though I do not really do that much with my nails. The other three colors have shown impressive (several days) lasting power, either on their own or with a formula X top coat.

Aesthetically I love the way the matte top coat looks, I’m just not super thrilled with its lasting power, though maybe the problem is the blue and not the top coat? I’ll know tomorrow. Still, if the look appeals to you, I suggest waiting til Ulta has a decent OPI sale and then checking it out.

On a related note, I’ll just leave this here: Man Tries to Guess Nail Polish Names (with about as much success as I’d have)

Leave a Reply

