Irreverent Reviews: Wantable Accessories Box, October 2014

Wantable is a pricier subscription box service that has boxes for makeup, accessories, intimates, and fitness. You get “curated” sets that should only have your likes and none of your dislikes, decided by a quiz you apparently have to take every time you go to the website (I’ve done it at least three times, my preferences have never been saved). Typically a one-time box is $40, but I had a coupon and free shipping which allowed me to try it.

I picked just about everything as a like, though I had no loves. My dislikes were hair accessories (I need more, but am just too picky to get them randomly), sunglasses (prescription only for me!), and watches (not an accessory to me, something that has to meet rigorous quality standards!).

I had some personal issues with this box, which is not to say that I’m unhappy. Wantable delivered well enough that I would be willing to get another box when the money allowed it.

Wantable’s packaging is really on point.

Cute little white box

Cute little white box

Classy velvet baggies!

Classy velvet baggies!

The first item I pulled out was the Lucia Necklace (retail $18).

"A delicate gold chain and turquoise accents are featured on the Lucia necklace"

“A delicate gold chain and turquoise accents are featured on the Lucia necklace”

I like the turquoise tooth things, and I like long necklaces

Long necklaces, exhibit A

Long necklaces, exhibit A

But I don’t feel like the design of the Lucia necklace really works as a long necklace? It feels like something that should fall more at your collarbone.

Pictured: Long necklaces and a different pink bathrobe than usual

Pictured: Long necklaces and a the interior of my fuzzy animal jacket

Perhaps I will tinker with it to make it shorter? Still, it is a nice necklace and it combines two concepts I like, I just don’t think it works.

The second item was the Tessa Bracelet in silver (retail $18)

"The Tessa bracelet is a gold link chain bracelet with an adjustable clasp" um, almost?

“The Tessa bracelet is a gold link chain bracelet with an adjustable clasp” um, almost?

This is actually very similar to a Charlotte Russe piece I own (but can’t currently find) in gold! So definitely my style, and in a color I like! The silver does look a little bit tarnished already, in a way that feels like it was a style choice to make it seem “distressed.” Not a fan of that element, but it’s not super noticeable. Really liked this piece.

Next were the Rory earrings (Retail $14)

"The Rory earrings are gold hoop earrings that are great for everyday use!"

“The Rory earrings are gold hoop earrings that are great for everyday use!”

I almost put earrings on my “dislike” list because I will not wear ones with post backings. Since these do not have post backings, I can safely say that I like them AND will wear them! I don’t have a lot of simple gold stuff like this, so it was agreat basic piece to receive.

Finally, the Annabelle ring set (retail $16).

"The Annabelle ring is a multi tone ring set" Also they're octagons?

“The Annabelle ring is a multi tone ring set” Also they’re octagons?

Someone once told me a woman’s ring size is usually the same as her shoe size. My shoes range from a size 7 to an 8.5 depending on style and brand. So I selected 8 as the ring size on Wantable. Oops. These are too big for even my thumb, which totally blows because this is such a cool set! It might be worth it for me to remove rings from my “like” list though, it’s probably not worth the risk of guessing… though I bet a 7.5 would fit one of my bizarre spindle fingers.

I can’t afford the 30-some dollars a month to have a recurring Wantable accessory subscription, even though I would like to. The problems with this box weren’t big, glaring unfixable issues it was personal taste and a screw-up on my part. I can’t wear the rings (though I’d like to) so I’ll probably gift them, and I’m on the fence about the necklace, but that’s two pieces I absolutely like and will wear.

If you’re interested in checking out Wantable, here’s my referral link!

Leave a Reply

