Irreverent Reviews: Hello Waffle

Ok, first we need to talk about what Hello Waffle has against it: They ship from Canada. This means that my American butt has to deal with the higher shipping rates everyone else is already used to. I don’t know if there’s a risk of paying extra customs (like there was when I was in Korea) but it’s possible. I didn’t get hit with any this time. Hilariously, I could drive to the Hello Waffle shipping address in about the same amount of time I could fly to Shiro Cosmetics. If I ever find myself heading up the Ottawa way, I will probably place a giant order and see if I can meet up with Hello Waffle at a Tim Horton’s for a shipping-free exchange. This is not a joke at the expense of Canadians, Tim Horton’s is a really delicious place.

You can keep your “bacon” though. That shit’s weird.

 

I was really impressed with everything I received, which was a lot of eyeshadows and two blushes. I don’t normally wear blush but I wanted to try some of the colors, and they were included in the blogger pack I ordered. The word I want to use to describe the colors is “plush.” I felt like some of the lighter colors didn’t  have as much payoff as I wanted, but will still make nice highlight/inner corner colors. It’s also worth noting that I’ve swatched them all but haven’t tried many for their intended purpose as an eyeshadow, so my opinion could change.

And now, some mediocre pictures of the swatches!

Belly, Enabling, They Are Coming

Belly, Enabling, They Are Coming

Corgi Butts, Rule 42, Whale Hello There, Timeline

Corgi Butts, Rule 42, Whale Hello There, Timeline

Vivaldi, Asterisk, Imam, Heavy Breathing Cat, Ethereal Voice, Empty Wallets

Vivaldi, Asterisk, Imam, Heavy Breathing Cat, Ethereal Voice, Empty Wallets

Animate Chess Piece, Magic Mirror, Rapunzel,  Snow Bees Eternity

Animate Chess Piece, Magic Mirror, Rapunzel, Snow Bees Eternity

(Bottom Two) Chinese Puzzle, Moonlit Grin

(Bottom Two) Chinese Puzzle, Moonlit Grin

So as you can see, I got A LOT of shadows and tried to get at least one from every collection. I’m so pleased with what I received for shadows, they’re all lovely. And Hello Waffle makes a great dark blue. Not that I need anymore dark blues but really.

Now the blushes:

Belle

Belle

Peach Dreams

Peach Dreams

Belle is very pale and shimmery. I think that makes it a pretty versatile blush that would be flattering for most skin tones. I was worried when I swatched Peach Dreams that it would be a little two orange for my pasty, pasty complexion but it blended out nice on my cheeks and just made them look a little more flushed. I probably wouldn’t order more blushes simply because they aren’t something that factors very frequently into my makeup routine, but if you’re on the hunt for a good indie blush I can suggest Hello Waffle.

So there, I have finally given my thoughts on Hello Waffle. A great indie makeup company with the cutest packaging I’ve seen in the business.20141027_171517

4 thoughts on “Irreverent Reviews: Hello Waffle

  1. earth2bellas says:

    I totally intend to buy a few of these as soon as I have the cash. Was it a long wait on the shipping? The last two eyeshadow swatch pics seem to have a lot of glittery “fall-out” (I think that’s what they call it?) …were they all like that?

    And yeah…that bacon is offensive haha.

    • My turn around time ended up being super long because I made my purchases during her big Birthday/1000 likes sale but reviews from other bloggers seem to say it’s pretty reasonable during the rest of the year (not complaining that I had to wait awhile because I did get such a good deal!)

      Fall out seemed worse on the paler colors, but I’m also not the most precise makeup applier. I wouldn’t go as far as to call them “glitter bombs” but they can be pretty shimmery and might need a little clean-up after application

  2. […] Irreverent on the Internet ~ A readable review blog! No really! She’s honest, funny, and well spoken. A rare bird […]

Leave a Reply

