Irreverent Reviews: Indie Craft Sampler, September

20140905_170031

It came so fast! Over labor day weekend I did some angry shopping. The premiere September box of the Indie Craft Sampler was one of my financially ill-advised purchases. ICS is like a subscription box in that you get an assortment of goodies but it’s not a recurring subscription, which is good (I’d like to get more, just not sure if I’ll be able to keep affording them). The blog is super helpful to follow because it shows the different contributors, and while nothing is guaranteed it does give you some idea as to if you’re interested in the items overall.

Let’s look at some poorly shot pictures laid out on my bed (with special guest appearances from “my awkward limb angles” and “pink bathrobe”) shall we?

20140905_170311So opening the box involved an actual, physical altercation between Manbeast and I. Some words were said, some feelings were hurt, possibly I was banned from scissors, but ultimately the nicely packaged… er… package took a hit. Is that color tissue paper sold in bulk to indie retailers? Aromaleigh uses the same stuff (it’s nice though)

Such Photography. Very Skills. Wow

Such Photography. Very Skills. Wow

Business Card Bouquet

Business Card Bouquet

3 Soap samples from Allie- Jewel, LLC in Luv Potion, Dirty Vic, and Hippie Blast

3 Soap samples from Allie- Jewel, LLC in Luv Potion, Dirty Vic, and Hippie Blast

Together in the packet these soaps smell of lavender. Out of the packet and on their own they all have nice, individual scents (and I can’t catch any whiffs of lavender). My time spent in Eugene makes it hard for me to want to rub a product called “hippie blast” on myself (I’ve been to the Country Fair,  I know what you people smell like). Despite my stereotyping it does NOT smell of dirt, patchouli, and marijuana. I’m torn between my desire to try these and the thought that they’d all make really adorable small gifts.

Felt skull pin from Addie Pearl Jewelry Design

Felt skull pin from Addie Pearl Jewelry Design

This will be a great October pin for my blazer, assuming I can ever find my blazer again.

A doohickey! From Thurston Post Paper Goods

A doohickey! From Thurston Post Paper Goods

A wrapping set? All I know is that I went to open it and actually see but thought the packaging was too precious. We’ll see how long it takes me to crack.

Some sparkly earrings from Always Anchors

Some sparkly earrings from Always Anchors

An awesome fabric wallet from Squishy P's Pillows (in a pattern that is close to paisley, but just not quite so I am able to like it)

An awesome fabric wallet from Squishy P’s Pillows (in a pattern that is close to paisley, but just not quite so I am able to like it)

I hate paisley. Paisley is, as far as I’m concerned, a crime against humanity. But this wallet, while ALMOST paisley, toes the line so nicely that I find the print ACTUALLY ADORABLE. It’s on the right side of the law and I am incredibly thrilled with this wallet. I’d be using it already except I don’t want to betray my year old Totoro wallet. Plus, I’m tempted to gift this one and get my own in the Matryoshka print.

Narwhal stickers! From MAUStudio

Narwhal stickers! From MAUStudio

Of all the stickers I could have received, I’m glad they are narwhals. Swimming in the ocean. Cuz they are so awesome.

This card (featuring a butt) by Rebecca Stockert

This card (featuring a butt) by Rebecca Stockert

Dog Biscuits from Big Daddy Biscuits

Dog Biscuits from Big Daddy Biscuits

We don’t own a dog personally, but our parents and best friends all do, so finding a recipient for these is just a matter of pulling a name from a hat

Monster finger puppet from My Monster Hat

Monster finger puppet from My Monster Hat

I didn’t know how badly I need one of these until I had it.

Two adorable ice cream cone magnets from Rainbow Moon Shop

Two adorable ice cream cone magnets from Rainbow Moon Shop

2 great rings from The Blue Piano

2 great rings from The Blue Piano

I don’t know if you can tell, but the brown one is a chrysanthemum! I love them, and regret not taking a picture of the envelope they came in: a little polka dot bag with the cutest elephant sticker.

A hair tie/headband thing from Bonnie and Twll

A hair tie/headband thing from Bonnie and Twll

The nautical theme is perfect for my return to New England

The nautical theme is perfect for my return to New England

My tip for this one? Tie at the back of the head unless you have great bow-making skills. I don’t. Yes, there are pictures, no, I won’t share them. This is great though, I’ve been meaning to invest in a cloth hair band.

Not sure what the overall value of this box would be, but it was so much fun to get all this great stuff! A lot of it really reminded me of my favorite kitschy store in Korea: ArtBox. Hopefully some of these items have caught your eye, below are links to all the shops I got stuff from. And be sure to check out Indie Craft Sampler itself!

Allie-Jewel

Addie Pearl

Thurston Post

Always Anchors

Squishy P’s

MAUStudio

Rebecca Stockert

Big Daddy Biscuits

My Monster Hat

Rainbow Moon Shop

The Blue Piano

Bonnie and Twill

One thought on “Irreverent Reviews: Indie Craft Sampler, September

  1. […] The Blue Piano is a shop I connected with through this blog (!) and outside of our commenting and following I was also exposed to her work in the inaugural Indie Craft Sampler (review here). […]

Leave a Reply

