Irreverent Re-brews: Saranac Pumpkin Ale

Welcome to our new Fall feature! Fall is my favorite season: The weather is perfect, the leaves change colors, seasonal peanut butter items return, and pumpkin everything.

Living in Oregon basically forced me into the craft beer scene. I had just started warming up to beer when I lived in Korea: Max and Hite were basically just mildly hoppy water, but I enjoyed a good Seoul Black Beer Stout. In Oregon I lived down the road from an amazing little shop called The Kiva, which had the revolutionary option to make your own six pack. On top of that, every place carried 22s. It was amazing.

And to me, nothing is more amazing than pumpkin beer. That is why I’ve decided to showcase my seasonal samplings. I’ll try them as I come across them, and if you can think of a beer you want to see me taste, leave a comment and I’ll see if I can find it!

Saranac Pumpkin Ale

Saranac Pumpkin Ale

Our first contender is Saranac’s Pumpkin Ale. We found this at our local liquor store for a sweet $5 a mini-growler. This is a very light beer- not hoppy, like a light IPA, just light in color and flavor.

20140824_185816

It doesn’t leave me with a heavy, bloated beer feeling nor does it have a strong after taste. It does  have an amazing blend of spices and smooth, buttery pumpkin flavor. I would recommend this beer to anyone interested in trying a pumpkin beer but who doesn’t have much experience with the blends, as it is so nicely balanced. Of course, I think that this is something seasoned pumpkin beer drinkers would enjoy as well (I certainly do!). Saranac’s Pumpkin Ale is the perfect way to prep our palate for pumpkin season!

One thought on “Irreverent Re-brews: Saranac Pumpkin Ale

  1. […] For the first of the Re-brews, refer to this post! […]

Leave a Reply

