Irreverent Reviews: One Hand Washes the Other (OHWTO)

I found out about Etsy seller One Hand Washes the Other (OHWTO) through the now-defunct (I think) blog Lipstick and Lightsabers. Poking around on the internet lead me to some really great reviews of their Black Magic soap, and as someone who is always on the lookout for things that will make my face feel unoily but also not dry I decided to check it out. The Black Magic soaps come in several options, a small round bar, a large uh, is that a rectangle?, bar, and two different whipped soap varieties. What I really wanted was the cream soap, but I didn’t want to spend $13 on something I wasn’t sure would work with my skin, so I went for the small round bar. 

Having used that product for several week (with breaks on weekends for other soaps), I feel confident that my next purchase will be either the larger bar or one of the whipped soaps because it is working out splendidly for me. The bar is almost too lovely to use, with a wonderful design on the top. It is a true, inky black- but not from any dyes, that’s just the color the ingredient combination makes. It also doesn’t contain any artificial or added scents, but it does utilize tea tree oil as an ingredient. Tea tree oil has a very strong scent that I don’t find pleasant at all, but the Black Magic bar doesn’t have a very strong scent, you can just  tell it’s there. Honestly, it works so well that I would go ahead and keep using it even if it were more pungent.

Now, OHWTO may not use artificial scents in that particular soap bar, but there is quite the fun and expansive scent library that can be used in perfumes (like this masterpiece) and also the other kinds of soap. I also picked up a bar of the exfoliating soap– it has a piece of loofa um, baked? molded? inside of it to provide an exfoliating scrub. I love using it on my feet, elbows, and yes, even my butt. The scent I selected was raspberry gingerale, and it really does smell like the soda. I would be quite content to receive that scent on another product, and I will keep buying the loofa bar.

They’re all round, can I call them bars? Am I creating soap sacrilege? Whatever.

I’m so impressed with the quality of the two items I purchased that I would easily consider buying more of the soaps (I mean, beer soap!!). I actually announced to all my friends that I was buying them soap for Christmas and they all rolled their eyes at me, but I know once they try it they will like it. Black magic bars for everyone! (Just call me Soaprah*) 

I also received a stylish business card, a lollipop (that I haven’t sampled yet, review pending!) and a solid perfume sample of the scent “Drama.” Drama is not a bad scent. It is not a scent that I would choose to wear as a perfume, but I would not mind having it in a soap. I feel like it is a muskier, more conventional smell then say… raspberry gingerale. I actually might give it to one of my friends, I think she would find it quite pleasant.

The TAT was a little slower than I’ve gotten used to experiencing from indie companies BUT when you consider what you’re getting it’s not bad at all. Speaking speculatively, I’m sure they can make backstop of popular items like the Black Magic bar, but how many people are actually ordering raspberry gingerale loofa soaps? The items are all handmade, and that takes time, especially for a custom order. It just means that if you’re going to be ordering these as gifts I would recommend placing an order at a decent interval in advance. I’ll probably make my Christmas order around Halloween, but also I have Christmas Gift Neurosis and am freaking out because I don’t have all my shopping done yet and THAT’S JUST WRONG.

I would encourage everyone to check out the Black Magic bar, if nothing else. I mean, there are samples, so what have you got to loose?

*I am so sorry for that.

4 thoughts on “Irreverent Reviews: One Hand Washes the Other (OHWTO)

  1. So glad this post didn’t embed the photos I added.

  2. thebluepiano says:

    Lol white paper + window = photographic gold. And soap is an awesome gift.

  3. […] got a giant haul from One Hand Washes the Other (previously reviewed here) about a month ago (maybe […]

  4. […] addition to whatever body wash I got on sale, I use the exfoliating loofa soap from OHWTO, mine is still pink gingerale scented and especially now that winter is drying everything out, it feels extra wonderful to use! I really […]

Leave a Reply

