Influenster Review: Hawaiian Tropic

To mark my retirement from eulogies I’m taking a one-post vacation from my blog vacation. So, as I mentioned in my previous post on the subject, Influenster is a review/social media site where you unlock badges and have the ability to earn, through your social media savvy, free stuff. One of the products I received for free testing was an after sun lotion from the brand Hawaiian Tropic. This was the product I was most looking forward to receiving because I have all the melanin of a Saltine and fry up like a lobster. Even when I wear sunscreen I typically get sun poisoning in the form of raised welts on the arms and chest. I have had more than three horrific sunburns in my life that involve my skin peeling and itching and me being in too much pain to function as a normal human. I also hate wearing sunscreen and almost never go outside. I mean, my job is in an archive, I’m lucky I even have a window. I take an afternoon walk with my coworkers on most days, which gives me about 15 minutes of sunshine and then there’s whatever I snag walking to and from my car, but I am not one to simply go outside and when I do I usually forgo sunscreen and to wrap myself in scarves and wear large hats and jump from shady spot to shady spot to avoid as much direct sun contact as possible. In short, I need a good after sun lotion. I needed one after BFF’s (amazing and beautiful and short) outdoor wedding left me a little pink, but that happened before my VoxBox arrived! (the photographer snapped a shot of me and some friends, it looks like we’re catching up and having a good time, but really the bride has my arm in a death grip and everyone is yelling at me for not wearing sunscreen. I cannot wait to see that photo0). So I figured I’d get the chance to try it out at my friends 4th of July BBQ, when I planned to be outside in a fun sundress drinking sangria and eating processed meats. Instead we all sat outside in long pants and jackets, underneath a tent, as the rain from Hurricane Arthur rolled on through. I was about ready to just try the product as a regular lotion, because getting a review done was not looking good… then the fifth rolled around, delivering all the sun weather the Fourth missed out on… and all the wind too. Manbeast and I wear convinced to stay at my parents for dinner, and my brother convinced us to get into the pool with him… and I jumped in sans sunscreen. I didn’t get burned enough that I felt like I needed serious relief, but I still applied the lotion to my arms, back, and shoulders. It has a ‘light tropical smell,’  which sounds like a stupid, nondescript explanation but is actually quite apt when you actually smell it. There are ribbons of aloe gel in the lotion, which blends together nicely and does not leave your skin with the tacky feeling that straight aloe gel tends to. I haven’t had any problems being itchy or peeling and my burn mellowed out pretty quickly. It’s hard to say what is from the lotion and what is just the strength of the burn I got. I do like this product, it is probably my second favorite item in the VoxBox (after the nailpolish) and I would consider repurchasing it after samples run out… if I thought I’d be getting more sun.

Leave a Reply

