Busy, Busy, Busy

Ooof. I was doing so well for awhile! My life picks up some speed again this following week, for better or worse.

It’s summer every day in the forecast now and I hate it. Can I move back to the PNW? What, I like my job too much? Ok.

My job is letting me play with old books (like 1800s old) and it’s THE BEST I love it. So much fun.

Tomorrow I start one of those boot camps exercise thingys in my attempt to be a little less squishy. I am nervous because I AM a very squishy person and I don’t like being yelled at so this could end horribly. It’s through my work though so I’m hoping it’s full of like… middle-aged secretaries and not fitness freaks. I like being in the same boat as everyone else. I’ve been trying to take a Monday barre class, but life keeps getting in the way of that. Two Mondays were missed so I could deal with my grandfather’s death and then this past week our instructor had a sick kid so I’ve missed 3 out of 3 classes. We’ll see what next week holds. I’m not trying to get “bikini ready” or anything, so hopefully my low fitness expectations can be met.

I’ll be baking my first wedding cake tonight or tomorrow for Best Friend’s wedding on SATURDAY! And that of course necessitates going out of town. When I return I plan to do a post unpacking the two weddings I’ve been to. In a kind way, not a Four Weddings way. Like… I guess depending on how it all turns out it could be considered a review but I’m planning to deconstruct things more in the way that they relate to me as someone who is “pre-engaged” and doing some super half-assed wedding planning of my own.

The weekend after that, we’ll be visiting some of Manbeast’s family that have made it up from the south. This will be the first time I’ll have the chance to meet any of his dad’s extended family. I would be nervous but after four years I think my “in” with these people is pretty solidified. (And yeah, totally lucked out on the “pre-future in-laws” gambit)

The weekend after that… fourth of July! It’ll be my first time attending a 4th party/being excited about a 4th party possibly in forever. Also I hate fireworks. It makes this holiday difficult.

I’ve been going through the archives of some favored beauty bloggers looking for more indie companies to check out because I love supporting the little guy and there is SO MUCH out there that’s amazing and the prices and quality have, so far, turned out to be better to or equal than the big name stuff, at least regarding eyeshadows. I have a soap order coming from Etsy shop One Hand Washes the Other and am looking at other popular/well reviewed companies like Darling Girl, My Pretty Zombie, Fyrinnae, and Alchimia Apothecary. Darling Girl has a lot of incredible looking things but many are discontinued for the time being, so I followed them on Facebook to hopefully stay updated on their situation. They and Alchimia Apothecary have “blogger sample packs” which are soooo tempting to me… we’ll see. I mean, I want to try their stuff, I’d probably blog about it, why not get a good sample deal, especially on some of the stuff I might not try for myself, like Alchimia’s perfumes? Fyrinnae are the makers of the Pixie Apoxy, which is sounds like some sort of eyeshadow Holy Grail (I would link to the product but their site is down for maintenance).

Got an email from Ulta about a four hour sale that gets you a free 4-piece Bare Minerals set with any $50 purchase. I don’t know yet if I’ll be taking advantage of it BUT I’m super stoked to see that Bare Minerals is bringing back their tutorial kits! I bought the “Smoky V” kit back during college and it was awesome. I really want to try the eyeliner kit! These tend to be pretty good deals, so I’d recommend checking the three options out.

I’ve got a brand review started in my drafts so hopefully I can get that finished and posted before jetting off this weekend, and don’t worry, I’ll share some cake pictures!

Leave a Reply

