The Great Makeup Cull Part 3: Lips

(Part 1, Part 2.1, Part 2.2)

The last hoorah! I’m also INCREDIBLY excited to move on for the next posts about some new brands I’ve discovered and love.

This is also the area where I made the greatest progress with the cull. The first three ones I pulled out were from a brand called “color impact” which I cannot find via my half assed googling.I believe it came with my “bookworm babe” makeup kit… which I kept the bag from soooooooo… yay awkward Christmas gifts?Image

 

Image

The colors don’t swatch bad. None of them have names but there is a red, a pink, and a gold. You might be able to tell, though, that while none of them are awful they are kinda weak. They also have that super waxy feel and taste that play lipstick tends to. ALSO I was carrying them to the bathroom to look at them in better light and tripped and threw them on the ground and destroyed them. Good thing I didn’t like them!

On the back of the hand I have two Beauty Rush glosses (grapefruit and juicy berry), Flirt! Plushious liquid velvet lipcolor in “So Naughty,” and Maybelline Superstay lipcolor in “709,” a pink they apparently don’t make anymore. Image

The lipglosses are tasty but dear god, I just hate lipgloss. They’re getting tossed. The flirt is a nice color but it’s very thin and never dries. Tossed. And the Maybelline… oh my goodness do I love that stuff. I’m on the fence though, it’s old and I broke the waxy stick. I think it might be time to replace it, but for now it will stay.

Ok, Next is one, big photo. Labels were done in a Mary Kay lipliner sample and a Palladio eyeliner in Eggplant. Just, ya know, FYI. ImageBM: That’s Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie lipstick in Raise the Bar. I LOVE it. Great color, great feel, lasts a good long while. And I was having fun with the innovative packaging but in the course of righting this review I seem to have jammed the trigger. So this may no longer work. Harumph.

MK: That’s Mary Kay in Amber Suede. There will be a whole post about Mary Kay coming. And that’s all I’ll say about it.

53, 40, 25: These are three shade of the new(?) Revlon Colorburst lip butters in Sorbet, Red Velvet, and Peach Parfait. I like them, I’m not sure what a lip butter is supposed to be exactly but they have more of a sheer finish than a lipstick. I can recommend these.

The black one: Oh my. I love black lipstick. It’s so avant garde, haute couture just… It looks great on me! This however is a cheap halloween black lipstick I’ve had since high school. It doesn’t have a lot of staying power. It’s time to say goodbye… and replace it with a quality black?

201 & 10: 201 is a “glossy” (it’s still a stick of lipstick) from the Face Shops Face It! line. It’s a kinda pinky coral color with some sparkles in it. Very nice. 10 is a bright red that I would almost describe as ‘pin uppy.’ Red is hard for me to wear so it doesn’t get a lot of use but it is a great color. I enjoy both of them.

Scrub: Liplicious Tasty Lipcolor from Bath & Body Works. One end is “coconut truffle” lipcolor, one is a brown sugar scrub. I’ve had this since I was at least a senior in college and almost never use it, but I do like the color. They don’t seem to carry it anymore.

400, 365, 440, 97: Maybelline moisture extreme and color sensational (just 440) lipsticks in silver plum, bold blush, mauve it up, and roseberry. Maybelline is my go-to favorite lipcolor (well… with a special exception to be addressed later). Bold blush is my go-to everyday lipcolor and I work the other ones in on pretty heavy rotation. I like these better than and of the other lipsticks discussed here with maybe the exception of the Bare Minerals. They don’t dry out my lips at all and last GREAT! They all stay.they don’t seem to make some of them anymore, so I’m going to have to make them last! (I can’t even find Mauve It Up on their website and I’ve only had that about a year…).

Well, that was cleansing! especially with how  much cull success I had this round. It’s nice to have lighter makeup bags.

Leave a Reply

