Kudos to You, 30 Rock

Tina Fey’s show ’30 Rock’ often fell flat to me, I watched it, I sometimes enjoyed it, but mostly I just felt “meh.” The show is over now, and I was really unimpressed by the finale, and by Ben and Jerry’s choice of commemorative flavor. That said, I give credit where credit is due: The wedding of Liz and Cris and its shutdown of the Wedding Industrial Complex, having an openly feminist protagonist, and it’s wonderfully positive (if grossly over-simplified) portrayal of older-child adoption. I think the series should have ended on that penultimate episode, with LIz hugging her new twins.

Kudos to you, 30 Rock. You were often problematic and frustrating to watch, but when you got it right, you got it right.

Leave a Reply

