Irreverent Reviews: Shiro Cosmetics Eyeshadow

Disclaimer: I was not paid or solicited for this review, I bought this stuff with my own money, and made the decision to review it myself. If ever anyone wants to send me free stuff and have me talk about it, I won’t turn you down, but that is not the case here.

After Thanksgiving, I posted my Irreverent Guide to Holiday Shopping, and mentioned supporting small, independent businesses. An example that I dropped was independent company Shiro Cosmetics. I was in love with Shiro from the moment I learned that they had a Color of the Month eye shadow inspired by Nic Cage raking leaves. This month (January) boasts the color “I Survived the Apocalypse and all I Got was this Awesome Eyeshadow.” January also marked the release of their absolutely exquisite looking “There and Back Again: A Hobbit Collection.” You can buy it all at a discount, which I’m debating, because those colors are so gorgeous.

Shiro is owned by Caitlin, who works with her friend Lauren to create vegan, cruelty free, high quality, cosmetics. They’re collection names are all some sort of wonderful pop-culture reference (December had a line of lip glosses that paid homage to A Christmas Story.

Also, they include free candy in every order. Free. Candy.

My purchase was made up of a bunch of little sample-sizes that I bought for one dollar each. Since I don’t wear makeup on a regular basis, the small sample pouches were the perfect size (and price) for me. All the eyeshadows had amazing sparkle, they are magically glittery. If you were to put these shadows into one of the bare minerals jars without telling me, I would not be able to tell the difference, that is how awesome the quality is. Some of the eyeshadow colors are lipsafe which is pretty awesome.

It did take a very long time for me to receive my order, but I’m willing to accept responsibility for that, as I placed it right in the middle of Christmas season. I tried photographing the colors I got, but I just don’t have a good enough camera or lighting, but here are the links to them:

Master Sword

Repel

Badger

Mushroom

Chimera

Little Brother

Farore’s Wind

Sweet Honey

Unforgettable

If you like quality, animal friendly, gorgeous make-up, and geeky references I can safely recommend Shiro Cosmetics. Now I think I’m going to go buy the Hobbit Collection, as a reward for finally finishing this post.

2 thoughts on “Irreverent Reviews: Shiro Cosmetics Eyeshadow

  1. […] were a couple of “ohhh yeahhhhh, I own that!” moments in this round. Excluded are my Shiro Eyeshadows. They’re all under a year old, there’s a lot of them in little sample baggies, and […]

  2. […] makeup company you shill for, Shiro? How does it compare?” well, as you may remember from my previous review, I simply adore Shiro, and their are some similarities between Shiro and Aromaleigh. Both allow for […]

Leave a Reply

